top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Dayton Weekly News

Dayton Association of Broadcasters Induct Class of 2022

The Dayton Area Broadcasters inducted ten longtime local broadcasters into The Hall of Fame Class of 2022, September 8 at The Dayton Convention Center.

The Dayton Area Broadcasters Hall of Fame was organized to enshrine talented broadcasters in the Dayton area for their many years of service in the industry and for their dedication to the community. Many were legends and pioneers who should never be forgotten. The Dayton Area Broadcasters Hall of Fame was founded in 2001.

This years inductees include:

Raymond Graham’s who’s start in broadcasting began at WGCI/WBZI in Xenia after graduation from The International School of Broadcasting. In 1974 Raymond became a staff announcer at WDAO, and co-hosted the popular “Back Page” call-in talk show with Anita Hawes, in addition he hosted a 5 day a week talk show on WDAO’s sister station WAVI for 15 years. Raymond was also co-host of “Black Viewpoint, produced by WDTN television. Over the years Raymond participated in numerous community events that helped elevate and create a better life for others.

Robert ”Bob” Moore, Jr was a longtime Radio Account Executive and Engineer at Dayton Stations: WONE, WING, WBLY-FM, WING-AM, and WDAO FM. He also worked at Cincinnati’s WLWT, Detroit’s WGPR-TV/62 Radio and WTLC-FM in Indianapolis. In addition, Bob used his engineering skills to assist in the creation of WDPS-FM Dayton Public Schools radio station and aided in the operation of WUTC -TV, the first and only television station to be owned and operated by African Americans in Dayton.

Former radio personality Edna Howell-Parrish began her career at Dayton’s WCXL in 1976 before moving on to other stations including WDAO, WCIN, WSAI, WAKW in Cincinnati, WAOK/V103 in Atlanta, METRO NETWORKS in Cleveland/ Austin, TX, and Oklahoma and WPNW, the Pledge in Grand Rapids, MI. She held positions such as News/Public Affairs Director, Promotions Director, Announcer and Talk Show host. Edna’s commitment to public service and news continues as she hosts and produces a weekly video podcast ‘Straight Talk Live with Edna Howell-Parrish.

Edna Howell-Parrish with Gloria Wilson, Kiesha Knox, Judge Mia Wortham Spells and Ramonia Knox.

Other honorees included:

Mark Allan joined WDTN-TV in 1995, anchoring and co-anchoring the station’s news broadcasts for over 25 years.

Brian Davis, a native of Troy, OH, joined WDTN-TV in July 1982, becoming a chief meteorologist of the station in 2009, following the retirement of Carl Nichols.

Jason Michaels, also known as Kevin Fodor, has over 35 years in the radio industry and is a longtime news anchor at WHIO Radio.

Mike Campbell is still an active reporter for WHIO-TV, where he has also worked as a producer, and video editor. The Cedarville University grad has over 35 years in the business and has won multiple awards.

Steve Ross was former operations manager and a longtime producer at DATV, as well as former director and producer at WKEF-TV.

The two posthumous inductees were Sandy Patton, a longtime promotion director at WKEF Television, and Jackie Roberts, a radio announcer, reporter, office manager, traffic and continuity director for Cox Media Group.

Deborah Parenti, current President, and Publisher of Radio INK, became the third person in the history of the Hall of Fame to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Parenti was inducted into the Dayton Area Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 2009 for her work in sales, production and general manager roles.

Two Community Service Awards were presented to Dayton Municipal Court Judge Mia Wortham Spells, and Anthony “Tony” Whitmore, formerly of RTA and ex-director of the Ohio Governor’s Department of Development.

131 views0 comments


bottom of page